Jim McKenna Cup

2010 winner -- Jim Johnson

The Jim McKenna Cup is a traveling award which each year goes to the Unit 359 member who wins the most aggregate Masterpoints in our two unrestricted annual tournaments -- the Boulder Bonanza Spring Sectional and the Kay McKenna Boulder Fall Sectional.

The Cup was established decades ago as the McKenna Cup and was made a memorial award in memory of Jim McKenna following his death. Prior to 1994, the Cup winner could be from any Unit. At that time the rules changed so that the winner must be a Unit 359 member. Both McKennas were giants in Unit 359 bridge, being among our earliest Life Masters. Kay was in fact our Unit's very first Life Master. The "Kay McKenna Boulder Fall Sectional" tournament is named in Kay's honor -- she was a great supporter and benefactor of duplicate bridge in our area.

Jim Johnson captured the trophy in 2010. He carried a three-event winning streak into the October McKenna Fall Sectional and made it four by taking first in the Friday KO's (bracket 2). The streak ended there, but these wins helped him bring home the trophy. The win was especially gratifying to Jim, as his father Vern had won the trophy in 1995. Good job, Jim! Jeanne Achziger combined a strong showing in the McKenna with a respectable performance in the Spring Bonanza to finish a close second.   Here are details of Jim's victory (overall finishes only -- section and Swiss match awards not shown):

Tournament    Event    Finish
Bonanza-MayFri Bracketed KO's 1st (bracket 2)
Sat Open Pairs 1st B / 4th A
Sunday A/X Swiss 1st B / 7th A
McKenna-OctFri Bracketed KO's 1st (bracket 2)

Here are the top 10 contenders in the 2010 race, with their Masterpoint aggregates over the two tournaments:

     34.37 Jim Johnson
     33.49 Jeanne Achziger
     28.28 Jeanne Gray
     27.39 Jean Hupka
     27.01 Jim Hoerlein
     25.73 Paul Haynes
     25.08 Katelin Yates
     18.98 Jean Grunwald
     18.68 Bill Brackett
     18.63 Suzanne Jones