Jim McKenna Cup

2011 winner -- Gary Greene

The Jim McKenna Cup is a traveling award which each year goes to the Unit 359 member who wins the most aggregate Masterpoints in our two unrestricted annual tournaments -- the Boulder Bonanza Spring Sectional and the Kay McKenna Boulder Fall Sectional.

The Cup was established decades ago as the McKenna Cup and was made a memorial award in memory of Jim McKenna following his death. Prior to 1994, the Cup winner could be from any Unit. At that time the rules changed so that the winner must be a Unit 359 member. Both McKennas were giants in Unit 359 bridge, being among our earliest Life Masters. Kay was in fact our Unit's very first Life Master. The "Kay McKenna Boulder Fall Sectional" tournament is named in Kay's honor -- she was a great supporter and benefactor of duplicate bridge in our area.

Unit 359 veteran Gary Greene captured the trophy in 2011, finishing strongly in the McKenna Fall Sectional. Gary joins the small circle of multiple-time winners of the Cup -- he also won in 2006. Suzanne Jones (an 8-time Cup winner) finished a close second in 2011, with about 23 Masterpoints in the two tournaments, against winner Gary's approximately 26.   Here are details of Gary's victory (overall finishes only -- section and Swiss match awards not shown):

Tournament    Event    Finish
Bonanza-May Sunday Flight A Swiss 7th
McKenna-Oct Fri Bracketed KO's (top bracket) 1st
Sat Open Pairs, Strat A 4th

Here are the top 10 contenders in the 2010 race, with their Masterpoint aggregates over the two tournaments:

     26.23 Gary Greene
     23.37 Suzanne Jones
     21.71 Bob Sherman
     20.26 Scott Needham
     18.83 Linda Sundbye
     16.98 Jeanne Gray
     15.73 Gary Steiner
     14.33 Woody Dillinger
     14.25 Vince Bates
     14.12 Kate Yates